West Virginia DUI Laws

Questions about West Virginia DUI laws? An attorney can help!

By:

West Virginia DUI laws call for long sentences for DUI offenders. In addition to fines and jail, West Virginia DUI laws call for driver's license suspensions to have lengthy minimums - 10 years in some cases. The length can be reduced through the use of ignition interlock devices, but those are a costly alternative.

Along with the immediate penalties, a drunk driving conviction in West Virginia could affect you for years to come. A DUI on your record could prevent you from getting or keeping a job or commercial driver's license, even years after the incident. You may also be forced to pay higher insurance prices for years to come.

Consider talking to a DUI lawyer to help you protect your rights. A DUI lawyer can answer your questions and provide the information you need to make the best decisions for your future. Speaking with a West Virginia DUI attorney today could save you time and money later.

To speak with a DUI attorney near you, and for a free case evaluation, simply fill out the form on this page or call toll free 877-349-1311.

West Virginia DUI laws shouldn't be taken lightly. Refusing a breath test could get your license revoked for anywhere from one year to the rest of your life.

West Virginia DUI Penalties

First DUI conviction

  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • $100-500 fine
  • 90 day driver's license revocation (can be reduced to 15 days with use of ignition interlock device)

Second DUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • 6 months-1 year in jail
  • $1,000-3,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Up to 10-year driver's license revocation (can be reduced with use of ignition interlock device)

Third DUI Conviction (within 10 years)

  • Charged as a felony
  • 1-3 years in jail
  • $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Permanent driver's license revocation (can be reduced with use of ignition interlock device)

Aggravated DUI (.15 BAC or higher)

  • 2 days- 6 months in jail
  • $200-$1,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Penalties for Refusal

  • 45 days to permanent revocation of driver's license

Get Help Fighting Your Charges with a West Virginia DUI Attorney

West Virginia DUI attorneys could answer any questions you might have about the state laws or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The list of West Virginia DUI penalties is by no means all-inclusive. DUI Penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.