Washington DUI Laws

DUI Questions About Your Charge? Get Answers With a Lawyer!

By:

Washington DUI laws are tough and intricate. The penalties for a DUI conviction may include mandatory jail sentences, fines and ignition interlock device use - even if this is your first DUI. The laws also include higher penalties for drunk drivers with a higher BAC. In some cases, a BAC above .15 will double the minimum punishments for a DUI conviction.

Because of the steep penalties, many people charged with drunk driving in Washington seek the help of a DUI lawyer. A DUI lawyer can help you navigate the complicated laws, and answer questions you have about your case. In order to make the best decisions for your future, you need to fully understand the charges against you.

To speak with a Washington DUI attorney near you, simply fill out the form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Washington State DUI laws are some of the most detailed and strict in the nation. Even a first-DUI conviction can carry mandatory jail time, fines and use of ignition interlock devices. Refusing a breathalyzer test may result in a one-year driver's license suspension.

Washington Penalties for DUI

First-time DUI conviction (BAC greater than .08, less than .15)

  • 1 day-1 year in jail
  • $350-5,000 fines
  • 1 year installation of ignition interlock device
  • 90 day license suspension

First-time DUI conviction (BAC greater than .15)

  • 2 days-1 year in jail
  • $500-5,000 fines
  • 1 year ignition interlock use
  • 1 year license suspension

Second DUI conviction within 7 years (BAC .08-.15)

  • 30 days-1 year in jail
  • 60 days of electronic home monitoring
  • $500-5,000 fines
  • 1-5 years ignition interlock use
  • 2 year license suspension

Second DUI conviction within 7 years (BAC greater than .15)

  • 45 days-1 year in jail
  • 90 days of electronic home monitoring
  • $750-5,000 fines
  • 1-5 years ignition interlock use
  • 900 days license suspension

Third and subsequent DUI conviction within 7 years(BAC .08-.15)

  • 90 days-1 year in jail
  • 120 days of electronic home monitoring
  • $1,000-5,000 fines
  • 1-10 years ignition interlock use
  • 3 year license suspension

Third and subsequent DUI conviction within 7 years (BAC greater than .15)

  • 120-days to 1 year in jail
  • $1,500-5,000 fines
  • 1-10 years ignition interlock use
  • 4 year license suspension

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • First refusal: minimum one-year suspension of driver's license

A local DUI attorney could answer your questions about Washington state DUI laws or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The list of Washington DUI penalties is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.