Vermont DUI Laws

DUI charges have you concerned? A Vermont DUI attorney may be able to help!

By:

Vermont DUI law includes fines, suspended license statutes and alcohol education requirements. Even if this is your first arrest for DUI in Vermont, the consequences of a conviction could impact the rest of your life. That's why many people turn to DUI attorneys to help fight their charges

A Vermont DUI attorney can answer questions you have about local DUI laws and how they may impact your case. Fully understanding your DUI case will allow you to make sound decisions. Don't delay! The choices you make could impact your case. Get the information you need early in the process.

To speak with a DUI attorney near you, simply fill out the FREE DUI case evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

The penalties for DUI in Vermont are tough, even if this is your first DUI charge. Refusing a breath test in Vermont could mean that you lose your driver's license for six months.

Vermont DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • Minimum 90-day suspended license
  • Maximum $750 in fines
  • Maximum two years in jail
  • Completion of alcohol and driving education courses

Second DUI Conviction

  • 18-month suspended license
  • Maximum $1,500 in fines
  • Maximum two years in jail
  • Minimum 200 hours community service
  • Completion of alcohol and driving education courses

Third DUI Conviction

  • Permanent driver's license revocation
  • Maximum $2,500 fine
  • Maximum five years in jail
  • Minimum 400 hours community service
  • Completion of alcohol and driving education courses

Penalties for Breath Test Refusal

  • Minimum 6-month driver's license suspension

Ask a Vermont Attorney about your DUI case

A local DUI attorney could answer any questions you might have about the laws in Vermont or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free DUI case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in Vermont.

The Vermont DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors. including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.