Utah DUI Laws

Facing DUI charges in Utah? A Utah DUI attorney can help!

By:

Utah DUI laws have sometimes been called "quirky" because of Utah's former laws requiring "membership" for admission to bars. Quirky or not, the laws are serious and drunk driving charges could have a big impact on your life.

A DUI in Utah could result in jail time, hundreds of dollars in fines and a suspended driver's license. For DUI cases involving a higher BAC, ignition interlock devices may be required following conviction.

But drunk driving charges in Utah don't guarantee a conviction. A Utah DUI attorney can give you the information and answers you need as you make decisions that will impact your future. An attorney can help you avoid costly mistakes, and help make sure you hit key filing deadlines.

To contact a DUI attorney near you, fill out the free evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Utah DUI laws call for some of the longest driver's license suspensions for breath test refusal. A first-time refusal could result in an 18-month license suspension. This may be on top of other penalties related to drunk driving charges.

Utah DUI Penalties

First DUI conviction

  • Minimum 48 hours in jail
  • Minimum $700 fine
  • 120-day driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol screening and education courses

Aggravated DUI (BAC of .16 or more)

  • Possible probation
  • Minimum 48 hours in jail
  • Minimum $700 fine
  • 120-day driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol screening and education courses
  • Installation of ignition interlock device

Second DUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • 10-day jail sentence
  • $800 fine
  • Possible probation
  • 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory alcohol screening and education courses

Third DUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • Charged as third degree felony
  • Minimum 1,500 hours in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 2-year driver's license suspension

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • First refusal: 18-month suspension of driver's license
  • Any additional refusal: 36-month license suspension

A local DUI attorney could answer questions you might have about the laws in Delaware or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Utah DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.