Tennessee DUI Laws
Charged with DUI in Tennessee? Know your rights, speak with a DUI lawyer today!
By: Chris Kramer
Tennessee DUI laws define clear punishments for drunk driving convictions. Convictions may come with mandatory jail sentences, thousands of dollars in fines and driver's license suspensions.
A DUI conviction can impact the rest of your life. It can make it difficult to find or keep a job and disqualify you from even applying for some jobs. You may also be forced to pay more for car insurance. Fortunately, a DUI lawyer may be able help you defend your charges.
A Tennessee DUI attorney can answer your questions about your case and how the state laws apply. A lawyer may also help protect your rights.
To connect with a Tennessee DUI lawyer near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.
The penalties for a Tennessee DUI are strict. Even if this is your first DUI conviction you could be facing jail time, fines and loss of driver's license. There are also penalties in place for refusing a breath test, including a suspended driver's license.
Tennessee DUI Penalties
First-time DUI conviction
- Mandatory 48-hour jail sentence
- Mandatory 7-day jail sentence if BAC is .20 or more
- $350-1,500 in fines
- 1 year license suspension
Second DUI conviction
- 45 days-1 year in jail
- $600-3,500 in fines
- 2 year license suspension
Second DUI conviction (within five years)
- Ignition interlock device
- Potential seizure/forfeiture of vehicle
Third DUI conviction
- 120 days-1 year in jail
- $1,100-10,000 in fines
- 3-10 year license suspension
Fourth and subsequent DUI conviction
- Felony charge
- Minimum150 days in jail
- $3,000-15,000 in fines
- 5 year license suspension
Breath Test Refusal Penalties
- First refusal: One-year driver's license suspension
- Second refusal: Two-year driver's license suspension
As a Tennessee DUI Attorney About Your Options
A local DUI lawyer can answer any questions you might have about the laws in Tennessee or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.
Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.
The Tennessee DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.