The State With the Toughest DUI Penalties
By: Chris Kramer
The state with the toughest DUI penalties is considered by many to be Arizona. In Arizona, first-time DUI offenders must install an ignition interlock device onto their vehicle for a year. An ignition interlock device prevents a car from being started until the driver blows into a portable Breathalyzer device and registers their BAC or blood alcohol content . Many states do not require an ignition interlock device after a first offense.
The state DUI laws in Arizona were toughened to the levels where they stand today back in 2007. Supporters of these toughened laws say that the law has helped reduce DUI fatalities in the state ahead of the figures in the rest of the country.
Not all states require an ignition interlock device for first-time offenders. Often, the penalties for a first offense include driver's license suspension of up to a year, fines, jail time and alcohol counseling. When DUI charges are handed down to repeat offenders the penalties increase, sometimes dramatically. Fines, jail time and length of suspensions all go up. In some cases, your car may be impounded.
Arrested for DUI? What Penalties Could You Face?
If you've been charged with drunk driving, you may want to get the facts on the penalties you face and the laws that apply to your case. Get answers by speaking with a local DUI lawyer. To connect for free, simply complete the free form on this page.
Arizona Law Tough But Not Uncommon
Arizona DUI laws are not the only state laws that requires an ignition interlock device for first-time drunk driving offenders. Twelve states require the device for those who have been convicted of drunk driving for the first time. A total of 48 states have ignition interlock laws on the books in general. Among the states that require the device to be installed for first-timers for a year include New Mexico and Pennsylvania, while other states require it for shorter terms.
In Arizona, first-time DUI offenders can face not only the ignition interlock device, but also a minimum $1250 fine, the possibility of community service, a 10-day jail sentence and more fees. A second offense will mean more jail time, more fines, and longer driver's license suspension.
If you would like to talk to a local DUI attorney about the laws in your state and how they may apply to you complete the form on this page. You can get a free case evaluation with a lawyer near you.