South Dakota DUI Laws

DUI Charges? Get Help by Speaking with a South Dakota DUI Attorney.

By:

South Dakota DUI laws are clear cut. DUIs are considered class one misdemeanors. Conviction on drunk driving charges could lead to jail time, fines and a suspended license.

However, being charged with a DUI in South Dakota doesn't guarantee a conviction. Many people choose to seek the help of a DUI lawyer to protect their rights. A South Dakota DUI attorney can answer questions you have about how the laws in South Dakota could affect your case.

A DUI conviction can leave a lasting mark. A DUI can make it difficult to find or keep a job and it may increase your insurance rates as well. The long-term costs of a DUI conviction could be quite steep. Get clear answers to your DUI questions by speaking with a DUI lawyer today.

To talk to a South Dakota DUI lawyer near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Free Case Evaluation

DUI penalties for South Dakota are strict. Refusing a Breathalyzer test in South Dakota could result in a one year license suspension.

South Dakota DUI Penalties

South Dakota enforces some tough penalties for DUI that include:

First DUI conviction

  • Class 1 misdemeanor on record
  • Maximum one year in jail
  • Maximum $2,000 in fines
  • 30 days-1 year driver's license suspension

Second DUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • Class 1 misdemeanor on record
  • Maximum one year in jail
  • Maximum $1,000 in fines
  • 1 year driver's license suspension

Third DUI conviction

  • Class 6 felony on record
  • Minimum 1 year driver's license suspension
  • Maximum 2 years in jail
  • Court-ordered chemical dependency evaluation
  • Maximum $4,000 in fines

Fourth DUI conviction

  • Class 5 felony on record
  • Maximum 5 years in jail
  • Maximum 2 years driver's license suspension
  • Court-ordered chemical dependency evaluation

Aggravated DUI conviction (BAC of .17 or more)

  • Class 1 misdemeanor on record
  • Maximum one year in jail
  • Court-ordered chemical dependency evaluation
  • Maximum $2,000 in fines
  • 30 days- 1 year driver's license suspension

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

Ask a South Dakota DUI Attorney About Your Options

A South Dakota DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws in South Dakota or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The South Dakota DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties can vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."