South Carolina DUI Laws

A South Carolina DUI lawyer give you answers about your charges

By:

South Carolina DUI laws seek to penalize drunk drivers in a number of ways. The drunk driving laws call for fines, jail time, license suspensions and ignition interlock devices, each of which can leave a lasting impact on your life.

A drunk driving conviction in South Carolina can cost you time and money, today and in the future. A DUI can lead to higher insurance rates, and may even keep you from getting or keeping a job. To protect your rights and your life, you may want to speak with a DUI lawyer.

A South Carolina DUI attorney can help you navigate the laws, and provide information so you can make best decisions for your future.

For a free DUI case evaluation, and to speak with a DUI attorney near you, simply fill out the form on this page or call toll free 877-349-1311.

Free Case Evaluation

South Carolina laws include a variety of penalties for drunk driving. Refusing a breathalyzer test could result in loss of license.

South Carolina DUI Penalties

First DUI Offense

  • $400 fine
  • Sentence of 48 hours- 30 days of jail time
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment program

Second DUI Offense (within 10 years)

  • $2,100-5,100 fine
  • 5 days-1 year in jail
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment program
  • 1-year license suspension
  • 2-year installation of ignition interlock device

Third DUI Offense (within 10 years)

  • $3,800-6,300 fine
  • 60 days-3 years in jail
  • 2-year license suspension
  • 3-year installation of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment program

Increased Penalties for Higher BAC?

  • YES

Penalties for Refusal

  • Minimum 6-month license suspension

Ask a South Dakota DUI Attorney About Your Options

A South Carolina DUI attorney could answer questions you might have about the state laws or your specific case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The South Carolina DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."