North Dakota DUI Laws

Facing DUI charges in North Dakota? Speak with a DUI Attorney to get answers!

By:

North Dakota DUI laws mandate minimum fines, loss of license and alcohol evaluation programs for drunk driving convictions. Looking at the potential penalties, it's easy to see why, when faced with DUI charges, some people choose to consult lawyers.

The choices you make following your DUI charges can have a lasting impact. Speaking with a North Dakota DUI attorney can help you get the information you need to make qualified decisions. A DUI attorney can answer your questions about the DUI laws in North Dakota and your case in particular. You need this information early in the process. Don't delay. Speak with a DUI lawyer in North Dakota near you today!

For a free DUI case evaluation and to talk with a DUI attorney near you, simply fill out the form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

The penalties for DUI in North Dakota are strict, even if this is your first DUI charge.

North Dakota DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • Minimum $250 in fines
  • 91-180-day driver's license suspension (depending on BAC)
  • Evaluation of alcohol/drug addiction

Second DUI Conviction (within five years)

  • Minimum $500 in fines
  • 1-2-year driver's license suspension (depending on BAC)
  • Minimum 5 days in jail or 30 days of community service
  • Evaluation of alcohol/drug addiction

Third DUI Conviction (within five years)

  • $1,000 fine
  • 2-3-year driver's license suspension (depending on BAC)
  • Minimum 60 days in jail
  • Evaluation of alcohol/drug addiction

Fourth DUI Conviction (within seven years)

  • $1,000 fine
  • 2-3-year driver's license suspension (depending on BAC)
  • Minimum 180 days in jail
  • Evaluation of alcohol/drug addiction

Penalties for Breathalyzer Refusal

  • With no DUIs in past five years: One-year driver's license revocation
  • With one DUI in past five years: Three-year driver's license revocation
  • With two or more DUIs in past five years: Four-year driver's license revocation

Ask a North Dakota DUI Attorney About Your Options

A local DUI attorney could answer questions you might have about the laws in North Dakota or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI attorney in the state.

The North Dakota DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.