North Carolina DUI Laws

DUI or DWI Charges in North Carolina? Protect your rights with a DWI Attorney

By:

North Carolina DUI laws mean business. There are mandatory, minimum jail sentences for convictions. Multiple DWI convictions can lead to years in prison and permanent revocation of your driver's license.

The steep penalties imposed for drunk driving are the reason many people in North Carolina seek the help of a DUI lawyer. A DUI attorney can examine your case and offer advice on how to proceed. The choices you make in the face of your drunk driving charge will impact the rest of your life. Don't let a DWI in North Carolina keep you from getting a job.

Get help today with a North Carolina DUI attorney. To speak to an attorney near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

North Carolina DUI penalties are among the country's toughest. Even a first-time DUI conviction carries minimum, required jail sentences. Refusal of a breath test can lead to loss of your driver's license for at least one year.

North Carolina DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • 1-year driver's license revocation
  • 1 day-2 years in jail
  • Maximum $4,000 fine
  • 24 hours community service
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device (if .15 BAC or higher)

Second DUI Conviction (within 3 years)

  • 4-year driver's license revocation
  • 7 days-2 years in jail
  • Maximum $4,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Third DUI Conviction (within 5 years of another conviction)

  • Permanent driver's license revocation
  • 1 week-2 years in jail
  • Maximum $2,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Fourth DUI Conviction (within 10 years of another conviction)

  • Permanent driver's license revocation
  • Felony charge
  • 1 year- 59 months in jail

Penalties for Refusal

  • Minimum one-year license revocation

A North Carolina DUI attorney could answer any questions you might have about the law or your specific case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DWI laws, speak to a local DWI lawyer in the state.

The North Carolina DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.