New Mexico DWI Laws

DWI Charges? Learn the laws with help with a New Mexico DWI Attorney.

By:

New Mexico DWI laws are among the toughest and most aggressive in the nation. Even a first-time drunk driving offense can lead to steep penalties, including: jail time, ignition interlock use, jail time, driver's license revocation, probation, community service and attendance at an alcohol treatment program.

New Mexico's strong DWI laws call for strong action on your part. If you are facing drunk driving charges, speak with a DWI lawyer today. An attorney can help you challenge your charges by providing information about state laws, helping you avoid costly mistakes and making sure you hit key filing deadlines.

To speak with a New Mexico DWI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page. Or you can call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

New Mexico DWI laws are so tough that many other states use them as a guide when updating their own DUI laws. New Mexico DWI penalties include a laundry list of punishments, and even refusing a breath test can open the door to many of these.

New Mexico DWI Penalties

First DWI Conviction

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • 1-year driver's license revocation
  • 1-year ignition interlock installation
  • Up to 1 year of probation
  • 24 hours of community service
  • Attendance at "DWI School"

Aggravated DWI Conviction (BAC of .16 or more)

  • At least 48 hours in jail
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • 1-year driver's license revocation
  • Up to 1 year of probation
  • 24 hours of community service
  • Attendance at "DWI School"

Second DWI Conviction

  • 96 hours-364 days in jail
  • Minimum $1,500 fine
  • 2-year driver's license revocation
  • 2-year ignition interlock installation
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • 48 hours of community service
  • Substance abuse program approved by court

Third DWI Conviction

  • 30 days-364 days in jail
  • Up to $1,750 fine
  • 3-year driver's license revocation
  • 3-year ignition interlock installation
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Substance abuse program approved by court

Fourth DWI Conviction

  • Felony conviction
  • 18-month jail sentence
  • Possible $5,000 fine

Penalties for Refusal

  • Driver's license revocation

New Mexico DWI lawyers can answer questions you might have about the state laws or your specific DWI case. To speak with a DWI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The New Mexico DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.