New Jersey DWI Laws

Charged with DUI or DWI in New Jersey? An attorney can help protect your rights!

By:

A DWI in New Jersey can put you face-to-face with serious penalties. New Jersey DWI law calls for jail time, fines and driver's license suspension for drunk driving convictions.

Many people charged with drunk driving in New Jersey turn to DWI lawyers for help with their case. A DWI lawyer can answer any questions you might have about your charges and how the DUI laws in New Jersey will affect your case. The choices you make today will impact your future. Get the information you need today with a local DWI lawyer.

To speak with a New Jersey DUI attorney near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page, or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

For the names and office locations of the New Jersey lawyers in your area click here.

The penalties for a DUI in New Jersey can impact the rest of your life. Even a first-time offense can result in jail time. Breathalyzer refusal can result in a suspended license for one year.

New Jersey DWI Penalties

First-time DUI conviction, BAC .08-.10

  • Maximum 30 days in jail
  • $250-400 in fines
  • 3 month license suspension

First-time DUI conviction BAC above .10

  • Maximum 30 days in jail
  • $300-500 in jail
  • 7 months-1 year license suspension

Second DUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • 2-90 days in jail
  • $500-1000 in fines
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Third DUI conviction (anytime)

  • 180 days in jail
  • $1000 fine
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • First refusal: 7 months- 1 year license suspension
  • Second refusal: 2 year license suspension

Ask a New Jersey DWI Attorney about your options

A New Jersey DUI attorney might answer any questions you might have about the law or your specific DWI case. To speak with a DWI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DWI laws, speak to a local DWI lawyer in the state.

The list of New Jersey DWI penalties is not all-inclusive. DWI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.