Missouri DWI Laws

Missouri DWI charges have you concerned? DUI attorneys may be able to help!

By:

Missouri DWI laws are some of the most intricate in the country. Missouri's driver's license point system can cause penalties for DWI, DUI or DUID - driving under the influence of drugs - to compound quickly. Even if you have no other driving violations, a DUI conviction can be costly, resulting in loss of license, jail time and heavy fines.

Many people turn to DWI attorneys to help navigate the complicated waters of Missouri's DUI laws. An attorney can answer questions you have about Missouri's DWI laws, as well as explain how your prior driving record and any points you have accumulated may affect your case. Protect your rights by speaking with a DWI lawyer today!

It's important you get this information early in the process. In Missouri, driver's license points can remain with you for several years. The decisions you make about your DUI case today will have a lasting impact. Fight for your license with a DWI lawyer!

To speak with a Missouri DWI attorney near you, simply fill out the FREE DWI case evaluation form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

The penalties for DWI and DUID in Missouri are tough, even if this is your first DWI charge. Refusing a breath test in Missouri means you could lose your driver's license for one year.

First DWI Conviction

  • 8 points on driver's license
  • Maximum six months in jail
  • Maximum $500 in fines
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device
  • 30 days suspended license

Second DWI Conviction

  • 12 points on driver's license
  • Mandatory jail sentence of 10 days-1 year
  • Maximum $1,000 in fines
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • If second DUI conviction occurs within five years: Five year license suspension

Third DWI conviction

  • 12 points on driver's license
  • Mandatory jail sentence of 30 days-4 years
  • Maximum $5,000 in fines
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • 10-year license suspension

DWI Conviction for Commercial Vehicle Driver with BAC above .04

  • Commercial driver's license suspension for one year
  • 2 points on driver's license

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • 1-year license suspension

Missouri Driver's License Point System:

  • 12 points in one year: License revoked for one year
  • 8 points in 18 months: 30 day suspension

Ask a Missouri DUI Attorney About Your Options

A local DUI attorney might answer any questions you might have about the laws in Missouri or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Missouri DWI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.