Mississippi DUI Laws

Charged with DUI in Mississippi? Get the answers you need with a DUI Attorney.

By:

Mississippi laws make it clear: A DUI is a serious charge. The statutes in Mississippi mandate fines and a suspended license for first DUI offenders. Multiple offenders are looking at mandatory jail sentences.

How you respond to your DUI charges can have a lasting impact on your quality of life and ability to keep or find a job. To make good choices you need information.

A Mississippi DUI attorney who knows the state laws can answer any questions you have about your case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, simply fill out the form on this page.

The penalties for DUI in Mississippi, even if this is your first DUI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in Mississippi could result in the lose of your driver’s license for one year. Your second refusal in 10 years could get you a suspended license for two years.

Mississippi DUI Penalties

First DUI conviction

  • Potential 48-hour jail sentence
  • $250-1,000 in fines
  • Mandatory alcohol safety education
  • Driver's license suspension for 90 days

Second DUI conviction (within five years)

  • Five days-one year in jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation for at least six months
  • $600-1,500 in fines
  • Driver's license suspension for two years
  • Community service for 10 days to one year

Third DUI conviction (within five years)

  • One to five years in jail
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation for at least six months
  • Vehicle seizure
  • $2,000-5,000 in fines
  • Driver's license suspension for five years

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

A person refusing a breath alcohol testing shall be subject to the same driver's license suspension as if he had been convicted of driving under the influence, with the same increases for subsequent violations as listed above.

Ask a Mississippi DUI Attorney About Your Options

A local DUI attorney may answer any questions you might have about the laws in Mississippi or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Mississippi DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.