Minnesota DWI Laws

Minnesota DWI problems? Get help from a DWI Attorney

By:

Minnesota DWI laws mandate jail time, fines and even vehicle forfeiture for drunk driving convictions, depending on the circumstances. Minnesota laws also call for harsher punishments for drivers with a high BAC.

Drunk driving charges, typically referred to as DWI in Minnesota, can seem intimidating. There are filing deadlines, court appearances, regulations and the threat of life-altering punishments for a conviction. A Minnesota DWI lawyer can help you get through your case. An attorney can answer questions you have, provide information about state laws and help you avoid costly mistakes.

Don't face your charges alone. Let a DWI lawyer help. To connect with an attorney near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page, or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Minnesota DWI charges could result in jail time, fines, loss of license and vehicle seizure. Refusing a breath test could lead to a suspended driver's license and even permanent revocation.

Minnesota DWI Penalties

First DWI conviction

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Maximum $1,000 fine
  • 1 year driver's license suspension

Second DWI (within 10 years) or first DWI conviction with a BAC above .20

  • 30 days-1 year in jail
  • Maximum $3,000 fine
  • 1 year driver's license suspension driver's license

Third DWI conviction (within 10 years)

  • 30 days-1 year in jail
  • Maximum $3,000 fine
  • Vehicle forfeiture

Fourth and subsequent DWI convictions (within 10 years)

  • 180 days-7 years in jail
  • Maximum $14,000 fine
  • Permanent driver's license revocation
  • Vehicle forfeiture

Ask a Minnesota DUI Attorney About Your Options

A Minnesota DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws or your specific DWI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DWI laws, speak to a local DWI lawyer in the state.

The list of Minnesota DWI penalties is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.