Maine OUI Laws

Maine OUI arrest? An OUI lawyer can get you answers!

By:

Maine OUI laws are the real deal. A drunk driving conviction can result in jail time, fines and a suspended driver's license. Simply refusing to take a breathalyzer test may also result in fines and jail time.

But drunk driving charges don't always become convictions. A Maine OUI lawyer can help you stand up for your rights and defend your case. A lawyer can answer your questions about the state laws, and get you the vital information you need. Don't make costly mistakes and miss important deadlines. Contact a DUI attorney to get the help you need to keep your future free.

To speak with a Maine OUI lawyer near you, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Maine OUI laws call for some steep minimum jail sentences. Those penalties could get worse if you refuse a breath test. A breath test refusal can result in loss of your driver's license.

Maine OUI Penalties

First OUI conviction

  • Jail sentence
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • 90-day administrative license suspension

Second OUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • Minimum 7-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $700 fine
  • 3-year administrative license suspension

Third OUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • Minimum 30-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $1,100 fine
  • 6-year administrative license suspension

Fourth OUI conviction (within 10 years)

  • Minimum 6-month jail sentence
  • Minimum $2,100 fine
  • 6-year administrative license suspension
  • Installation of ignition interlock device

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • First refusal: 275-day license suspension
  • Second refusal (within 10 years): 18-month license suspension

Ask a Maine OUI Attorney About Your Options

A Maine OUI attorney can answer questions you might have about the law or your specific OUI case. To speak with an OUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Maine DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.