Kansas DUI Laws

Kansas DUI trouble? Get help with a DUI Attorney

By:

Kansas DUI laws are very specific in outlining the punishments for drunk driving. The state has minimum jail sentences for all levels of conviction, as well as use of ignition interlock devices and required alcohol safety education programs. Interlocks and rehab are expensive, and when combined with the thousands of dollars in fines that may be assessed, a DUI in Kansas can be a costly affair.

A Kansas DUI lawyer, then, may be money well spent. A local attorney can answer questions you have about your case and how state laws apply. As you make decisions about your case you need the best information possible. The choices you make today will affect your life for years to come. A DUI, even years after it occurs, can keep your insurance prices high and may even prevent you from getting a job. Protect your rights by speaking with a Kansas DUI attorney.

Connect with a local DUI lawyer today. Simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page or call, toll-free 877-349-1311.

Kansas DUI penalties are very specific and detailed, especially when it comes to breath test refusals. The penalties increase each time you refuse, building from a one-year suspension of your driver's license to permanent license revocation.

Kansas DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • 48 hours-6 months in jail
  • $500-1,000 fine
  • 1-year driver's license suspension
  • Up to 100 hours of community service
  • 1-year use of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol/drug safety education program

Second DUI Conviction

  • 90 days - 1 year in jail
  • $1,000-1,500 fine
  • 2-year use of ignition interlock device
  • 1-year driver's license suspension
  • Completion of drug/alcohol abuse treatment program

Third DUI Conviction

  • Charged as a felony
  • 90 days-1 year in jail
  • $1,500-2,500 fine
  • 3-year use of ignition interlock device
  • 1-year driver's license suspension
  • Completion of drug/alcohol abuse treatment program

Penalties for Breath Test Refusal

  • First refusal: 1-year driver's license suspension and installation of ignition interlock device
  • Second refusal: 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Third refusal: 3-year driver's license suspension
  • Fourth refusal: 10-year driver's license suspension
  • Fifth refusal: Permanent revocation of driver's license

Ask a Kansas DUI Attorney about Your Options

Kansas DUI attorneys can answer questions you might have about state laws or your specific DUI case. To speak with a local DUI attorney today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Kansas DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.