Iowa OWI and DUI Laws

Charged with OWI or DUI in Iowa? Get answers and help with a DUI attorney

By:

In Iowa, drunk driving is charged as Operating While Intoxicated, or OWI. And while Iowa may use a slightly different name, their penalties for the crime are just as serious as the rest of the country.

Iowa OWI laws call for mandatory jail time, thousands of dollars in fines and license suspensions. There are increased penalties for drivers with a BAC above .10, like use of ignition interlock devices. Plus, Iowa DUI laws call for alcohol treatment for anyone convicted.

Iowa OWI law may seem intimidating, but there is help available. An Iowa DUI attorney can get you the information you need so you can fight your charges. A lawyer can help you avoid costly mistakes and meet important deadlines.

Get help with a local DUI lawyer today. To speak with someone, simply fill out the form on this page or call, toll free, 877-349-1311.

Free Case Evaluation

Iowa DUI law calls for a variety of penalties for anyone convicted of drunk driving. There are even penalties for refusing a breath test, including revocation of driver's license.

Iowa OWI Penalties

First OWI Conviction

  • Minimum 48 hours in jail
  • 180 days-1 year driver's license revocation
  • $625-1250 fine
  • Community service
  • Installation of ignition interlock device if BAC over .10
  • Alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment program

Second OWI Conviction

  • Minimum seven days in jail
  • 2-year driver's license revocation
  • $1,875-6,250 fine
  • Installation of ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment program

Third and Subsequent OWI Convictions

  • Charged as a felony
  • 30 days-5 years in jail
  • 6-year driver's license revocation
  • $3,125-9,375 fine
  • Installation of ignition interlock device
  • Alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment program

Penalties for Refusal

  • First refusal: One-year driver's license revocation
  • Second refusal: Two-year driver's license revocation

Ask an Iowa OWI/DUI Attorney about Your Options

An Iowa DUI attorney can answer your questions about the laws in Iowa or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The Iowa OWI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state.Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."