Georgia DUI Laws

Facing DUI Charges in Georgia? Get Help from a Local DUI Attorney

By:

A Georgia DUI conviction carries a laundry list of penalties. Even if this is your first offense, you could be facing jail time, loss of license, steep fines, community service and alcohol rehab classes. Many people charged with DUI in Georgia choose to consult a lawyer and fight their charges.

Your choices will impact the rest of your life. When it comes to DUI charges you can't afford to rely on a lawyer who may not be well versed in the DUI laws in Georgia. Talking to a Georgia DUI attorney who knows the state laws and how they apply to your case will help you make informed decisions.

A DUI lawyer can answer any questions you may have about your case. To speak with an attorney near you today, fill out the form on this page or call 877-349-1311 for a free consultation.

Free Case Evaluation

The penalties for DUI in Georgia , even if this is your first DUI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in Georgia could lead to a one-year driver's license suspension.

Georgia DUI Penalties

First Offense

  • $300-1,000 fine
  • 10 days-1 year in jail
  • One-year probation, less time served in jail
  • One-year driver's license suspension
  • Minimum 40 hours of community service
  • Completion of alcohol/drugs & driving class

Second Offense (within 10 years)

  • $600-1,000 fine
  • 90 days-1 year in jail
  • 1-year probation, less jail time
  • 3-year driver's license suspension
  • Minimum 30 days of community service
  • Completion of alcohol/drug use risk reduction program

Third Offense (within 10 years)

  • $1,000-5,000 in fines
  • 120 days-12 months in jail
  • Minimum 30 days community service
  • Completion of alcohol/drug use risk reduction program
  • 12 months probation

Fourth Offense (within 10 years)

  • $1,000-5,000 in fines
  • 1-5 years in jail
  • Minimum 60 days community service
  • Completion of alcohol/drug use risk reduction program
  • 5 years probation

Penalties for Breathalyzer Refusal

  • One-year license suspension

Ask a Georgia DUI Attorney about Your Options

A DUI attorney in your area could answer your questions about Georgia DUI laws or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The list of Georgia DUI penalties is not all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary depending on various factors, such as your prior driving record.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."