Florida DUI Laws
Facing a DUI in Florida? Get the accurate information you need.
By: Mike Stetzer
Florida DUI charges can lead to a number of tough penalties. Florida law stipulates mandatory jail time, fines and the use of ignition interlock devices in many DUI cases. You may be tempted to fight your charges alone, but many people choose to seek the help of a lawyer in dealing with their case.
A Florida DUI attorney can answer your questions and help you protect your rights. The decisions you make regarding your drunk driving case could impact the rest of your life. A DUI lawyer can help you get the information you need early in the process so you can take measures to protect your rights.
To find a lawyer in Florida near you today, simply fill out the FREE case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Florida are rough, even if you have a clean driving record. Even refusing a breath test will get you a suspended license for one year.
Florida DUI Penalties
First DUI conviction
- Maximum six months in jail
- $500- 1,000 in fines
- 180-day to 1 year driver's license suspension
- 50 hours of community service
Second DUI conviction (within 5 years)
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 10 days and up to nine months
- Mandatory ignition interlock device installation for at least one year
- $1,000- 2,000 in fines
- Minimum 5-year driver's license suspension
Third DUI conviction (within 10 years)
- Felony conviction
- Minimum 30 days in jail
- $2,000- 5,000 in fines
- Minimum 10-year driver's license suspension
Fourth DUI conviction
- Felony conviction
- Maximum 5 years in jail
- Permanent revocation of driver's license
- Minimum $2,000 in fines
Breathalyzer Test Refusal Penalties
- First refusal: 1-year suspension of driver's license
- Any additional refusal after the first: 18-month suspension of driver's license
- Each additional refusal is a misdemeanor offense
Ask a Florida DUI Attorney About Your Options
A DUI attorney near you could answer any questions you might have about the DUI laws in Florida or your specific case. To speak with a lawyer near you today, fill out the free DUI case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.
Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.
The Florida DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.