Colorado DUI Laws

DUI or DWAI Charges in Colorado? A DUI lawyer can answer your questions

By:

Colorado DUI laws are some of the most nuanced in the nation. Like most states, Colorado carries stiff penalties for drunk drivers with a BAC above .08. But, Colorado can also charge drivers with DWAI, driving while ability impaired. A BAC of .05 or greater gives rise to an inference of impairment.

Both charges carry penalties that can leave a lasting impact on any convicted driver. Because of the consequences, and the complex nature of the state's DUI laws, many people charged with drunk driving choose to contact a lawyer specializing in DUI law.

Talking to an Colorado DUI attorney who knows the state laws and how they apply to your case may help you make informed decisions. A DUI lawyer can answer questions you have about your case or specific state laws. The choices you make now can impact you - and your family - for years to come.

Fill out the form on this page to speak with a DUI lawyer near you today.

There is a wide range of penalties for DUI and DWAI in Colorado. Even if this is your first offense you could be facing jail time, fines and community service. If you refuse a breath test in Colorado you could have your license suspended for one year.

Colorado DUI & DWAI Penalties

First DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) Conviction (BAC between .05-.08)

  • Eight points toward suspension on driver's license
  • $200-500 fine
  • 2-180 days in jail
  • 24-48 hours of community service

Second DWAI Conviction

  • One-year revoked driver's license
  • $600-1,000 fine
  • 60 days-One year in jail
  • 48-96 hours of community service

First DUI Conviction (BAC of .08 or greater)

  • 12 points toward suspension on driver's license (which results in license suspension)
  • $600-1,000 fine
  • Five days-One year in jail
  • 48-96 hours of community service

Second DUI Conviction

  • One-year revoked driver's license
  • $1,000-1,500 fine
  • Minimum 10 days in jail
  • 60-120 hours of community service
  • Two years probation

DWAI with a previous DUI conviction on record

  • One-year revoked driver's license
  • $800-1,200 fine
  • 60 days-One year in jail
  • 52-104 hours of community service

DUI with a previous DWAI conviction on record

  • One-year driver's license revocation
  • $900-1,500 fine
  • 70 days-1 year in jail
  • 56-112 hours of community service

Penalties for Refusal

  • One-year suspended license

Learn Your Options with a Colorado DUI Attorney

A local DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws in Colorado or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in your state.

The Colorado DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.