California DUI Laws
Speak with a DUI attorney in California today!
By: Chris Kramer
California DUI law doesn't discriminate. Even movie stars and athletes can get pulled over. These celebrities may have lawyers waiting in the wings to handle their DUI defense. Do you?
When it comes to criminal charges you can't afford to rely on a lawyer who may not be well versed in the DUI laws in California. The long-term impact of a DUI conviction can be devastating.
You need to know your options in responding to the charges against you. Talking to a California DUI attorney who knows the state laws and how they apply to your case can help you make informed decisions.
Fill out the form on this page to speak with a DUI lawyer near you today.
The penalties for DUI in California, even if this is your first DWI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in California means you lose your driver’s license for one year. Your second refusal in 10 years gets you a suspended license for two years.
California DUI Penalties
First DUI conviction in California:
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 96 hours
- Minimum $390 fine
- 6 months suspended license
Second DUI conviction in California within 10 years:
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 90 days
- Minimum $390 fine
- 2 years suspended license
Third DUI conviction in California within 10 years:
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 120 days
- $390- $1000 fine
- 3 years revoked license
- Drug/alcohol treatment program
Breath Test Refusal Penalties
- First refusal: One-year suspended license
- Second refusal within 10 years: Two-year suspended license
- Third refusal within 10 years: Three-year suspended license
Ask a California DUI Attorney About Your Options
A local DUI lawyer can answer any questions you might have about the laws in California or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.
Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.
The California DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.