Arkansas DWI Laws

Facing a DWI in Arkansas? Speak with a Local DUI Attorney


Arkansas DWI cases are not treated lightly. The state requires ignition interlock devices for some first-time DUI offenders, and the state recently increased the length of driver's license suspensions.

You may have a family lawyer you rely on for traffic tickets or family matters. But when it comes to these charges, though, you may want to speak with a lawyer who specializes in Arkansas DUI laws.

Early in the process, you should have all the information about the charges, your case and how your actions will impact your trial. A DWI conviction can have a long-term impact on your ability to drive or keep a job. Talking to an Arkansas DWI lawyer who knows the state laws and how they apply to your case will help you make informed decisions.

Fill out the form on this page to speak with a DUI lawyer near you today.

The penalties for DWI in Arkansas, even if this is your first DWI charge , are serious. Refusing a breath test in Arkansas means you lose your driver’s license for 180 days. Your second refusal in five years gets you a suspended license for two years.

Arkansas DWI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • 6-month driver's license suspension
  • Between one day and one year jail sentence
  • Community service
  • $150 - $1,000 fine
  • Potential required use of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of Alcohol Education Program

Second DUI Conviction (within 5 years)

  • Two-year driver's license suspension
  • Seven days - one year jail sentence
  • Community service
  • $400 - $3,000 fine
  • Potential ignition interlock device requirement
  • Completion of Alcohol Education Program

Third DUI Conviction (within 5 years)

  • 30-month driver's license suspension
  • 90 days - 1 year in jail sentence
  • Community service
  • $900 - $5,000 fine
  • Potential ignition interlock device requirement
  • Completion of Alcohol Education Program

Penalties for Refusal

  • First refusal: 180-day driver's license suspension
  • Second refusal: 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Third refusal: Three-year driver's license suspension
  • Fourth refusal: Lifetime driver's license revocation

Ask an Arkansas DWI Lawyer About Your Options

A local DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws in Arkansas or your specific DWI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DWI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in Arkansas .

The Arkansas DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.