Arizona DUI Laws

Arrested for a DUI in Arizona? Speak with a DUI attorney near you.

By:

Arizona DUI laws treat drunk drivers seriously. Arizona state laws call for mandatory installation of ignition interlock devices for first-time drunk driving offenders and increased penalties for cases involving a BAC above .15.

When it comes to drunk driving charges, you can't afford to rely on a lawyer who may not be well versed in Arizona's DUI laws, which were recently updated to expand fines and other penalties for conviction.

In a DUI case, it's critical that you have the information you need to make good decisions. You need to know how the charges, and the choices you make in responding to them, can affect your future - and your family's future. Talking to an Arizona DUI attorney who knows the state laws and how they apply to your case can help you make informed decisions.

Fill out the form on this page to speak with a DUI lawyer near you today.

The penalties for DUI in Arizona, even if this is your first DUI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in Arizona could mean that you lose your driver’s license for 12 months. Your second refusal in five years can get you a suspended license for two years.

Arizona DUI Penalties

First-time DUI Conviction:

  • Minimum 10-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $250 fine
  • Additional $1,000 assessment fees
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol education course
  • Potential community service

Second Offense (within 84 months)

  • Minimum 90-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • One year driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory installment of ignition interlock device
  • Additional $2,500 assessment fees
  • 30 hours of community service

Increased Penalties for an Aggravated DUI (BAC of .15% or more)

  • Minimum 30-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $250 fine
  • Mandatory installment of ignition interlock device
  • Additional $2,000 assessment fees
  • Potential community service

Second Aggravated DUI Offense (within 84 months)

  • Minimum 120-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $500 fine
  • At least one year driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory installment of ignition interlock device
  • Additional $2,500 assessment fees
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Misdemeanor conviction

Penalties for Refusing a Breath Test

  • First refusal: 12 months suspended license
  • Second or subsequent refusal: 2 years suspended license

Ask an Arizona DUI Attorney about Your Options

An Arizona DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws in Arizona or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI attorney near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in Arizona.

This list of penalties is by no means all-inclusive.  Penalties for a DUI conviction can vary based on several factors, including your driving record.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.