Alaska DUI Laws and Penalties

By:

Residents of Alaska can be charged with DUI while operating any motor vehicle, be it a car, truck, snowmobile or even a boat.

DUI charges in Alaska are treated seriously by local police. When it comes to such charges, you may want to turn to an attorney that concentrates in DUI law.

A DUI attorney in Alaska can provide you information and answer your questions early in the process. A lawyer can help explain your charges, your choices and how these might affect you in the future. Speaking with an Alaska DUI attorney can help you make informed decisions.

Fill out the form on this page to speak with a DUI lawyer near you today.

The penalties for DUI in Alaska, even if this is your first DUI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in Alaska may mean a suspended driver's license for at least 90 days. A second refusal in five years could mean a suspended license for one year.

Alaska DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • Minimum 90-day suspended license
  • Minimum 72-hour jail sentence
  • Minimum $1,500 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment

Second DUI Conviction

  • Minimum 1-year suspended license
  • Minimum 20-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $3,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment

Third DUI Conviction

  • Minimum 3-year suspended license
  • Minimum 60-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $4,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
  • Completion of alcohol/drug treatment

Fourth DUI Conviction

  • Minimum 5-year suspended license
  • Minimum 120-day jail sentence
  • Minimum $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device

Penalties for Breath Test Refusal

  • No prior convictions: 90-day suspended license
  • 1 prior conviction: 1-year suspended license
  • 2 prior convictions: 3-year suspended license
  • More than 2 prior convictions: 5-year suspended license

Ask an Alaska DUI Attorney About Your Options

A local DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the laws in Alaska or your specific DUI case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI lawyer in the state.

The list of Alaska DUI penalties is by no means all-inclusive.  DUI penalties may vary depending on a variety of circumstances, including your prior driving record.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.