Alabama DUI Laws

DUI Charges in Alabama? Get help with a DUI attorney today!

By:

Alabama DUI laws leave little doubt. The penalties for drunk driving conviction in this state are serious. They include jail time, fines and driver's license suspension. Fortunately, you don't have to face these charges alone.

An Alabama DUI lawyer can help you get through your DUI charges. An attorney can answer your questions about the charges against you and the state's drunk driving laws. How you respond to your case can impact the rest of your life. Make informed decisions. Speak with am Alabama DUI attorney today!

Fill out the FREE evaluation form on this page or call 877-349-1311 to speak with a DUI attorney near you.

Free Case Evaluation

The penalties for DUI in Alabama, even if this is your first DUI charge, are serious. Refusing a breath test in Alabama means you could lose your driver’s license for 90 days. Your second refusal in five years could get you a suspended license for one year.

Alabama DUI State Laws

First DUI conviction in Alabama:

  • Jail sentence up to one year
  • Fines from $600-$2,100
  • Suspended license for up to 90 days
  • DUI substance abuse class

Second DUI conviction in Alabama within 5 years:

  • Mandatory jail sentence of 5 days up to one year
  • $1,100-5,100 in fines
  • One year suspended license
  • DUI substance abuse class

Third DUI conviction in Alabama within 5 years:

  • Mandatory jail sentence of 60 days up to one year
  • $2,100-10,100 in fines
  • Suspended license for three years
  • DUI substance abuse class

Fourth DUI conviction in Alabama within 5 years:

  • Mandatory jail sentence of one year and one day up to ten years
  • $4,100-10,100 in fine
  • Suspended license for five years
  • DUI substance abuse class

Refusal of breath test:

  • First refusal: 90-day suspension of driver's license
  • Second refusal (within 5 years): 1-year suspension of driver's license

Ask an Alabama DUI Attorney About Your Options

A local DUI attorney can answer any questions you might have about the DUI laws in Alabama or your specific case. To speak with a DUI lawyer near you today, fill out the free case evaluation form on this page or call us, toll free, at 877-349-1311.

Note: Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a local DUI attorney.

The Alabama DUI penalty list is by no means all-inclusive. DUI penalties may vary based on a variety of factors, including your prior driving record.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state.Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."