San Francisco Drunk Driving

Fight Your Charges with a Bay Area DUI Attorney

Being arrested for drunk driving in San Francisco is serious business. If you've been charged with a DUI and are looking for help preparing for your court date, you can speak with a local San Francisco DUI attorney.

Every person has the right to defend themselves in court, but when it comes down to it, many people feel more comfortable having a DUI attorney on their side. A drunk driving lawyer can help you determine if your arrest was illegal, or if you may be able to get the charges reduced or dropped.

California DUI laws carry serious penalties. Get help fighting your DUI charges today by connecting with an attorney near you. Simply fill out the case review form or call 877-349-1311 to get started.

Free Case Evaluation

California State Laws Carry Harsh Penalties for DUI in San Francisco

The penalties that come with a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in San Francisco are based on California DUI laws for the entire state. California DUI carries harsh penalties, including mandatory jail time for first-time offenders, and a "habitual offender" status for those with three or more DUI conviction in 10 years.

However, the court considers each case independently, and the actual sentence handed down can depend on the judge's view of the evidence against the defendant, and what sort of defense is given against the charges.

Penalties for First California DUI

  • Jail: Mandatory 96 hours, up to 6 months
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License suspension: 6 months
  • DUI/Alcohol education course required
  • Ignition Interlock Device requirement possible
  • SR22 insurance required for restricted license

Penalties for Second California DUI

  • Jail: 90 days to 1 year
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License suspension: 2 years
  • SR22 insurance and Ignition Interlock Device required for restricted license
  • DUI/Alcohol education course required

Penalties for Third California DUI

  • Jail: 120 day to 1 year
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License suspension: 3 years (restricted license possible after 1 year)
  • Ignition Interlock Device required
  • SR22 insurance required for restricted license
  • DUI/Alcohol education course required
  • Habitual traffic offender status applied for 3 years

The state of California has also recently passed zero-tolerance laws for repeat DUI offenders. If you have a prior DUI conviction on your record, you could face repeat DUI charges if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is greater than .01 percent.

Fight Your Charges - Get Help from a San Francisco DUI Lawyer

You may not have an understanding of the drunk driving laws in California or the methods that police may use to get a DUI arrest on the books. A local DUI attorney can help you understand what you're up against, and help devise a defense to the allegations.

Connecting with a lawyer is easy. Just use the free DUI case evaluation form on this page or call toll-free 877-349-1311 today to connect with a San Francisco DUI attorney and learn how to protect your rights.

Laws may have changed since our last update. This is for informational purposes and is not legal advice. Speak to a local DUI attorney for legal advice about your particular situation.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state.Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."