DUI 101: Examining DUI Second Offenses
If you didn't learn your lesson the first time around, a DUI second offense could mean a harder slap on the wrist. Law enforcement considers drinking and driving a serious offense and strives to make sure you feel the burn if you are found to be a DUI second offender.
A DUI second offense may mean more jail time, larger fines and a longer license suspension as well as additional penalties. Each state has DUI laws that will affect your life if you are convicted of a DUI second offense.
DUI Second Offenses Come Down a Little Harder
With a DUI second offense, most states will typically increase the penalties if it is within five years of your first offense. Take these examples.
- In Illinois, a 1st DUI offense may get you fines of up to $2500, up to one year in jail, a year driver's license suspension and 100 hours of community service. If you are charged with an Illinois DUI second offense, the sentence may increase to up to $2500 in fines, a five-year driver's license suspension, a mandatory sentence of five days in jail or 240 hours of community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
- Many states just increase the penalties already mandated the first time around with a DUI second offense, but some states like Wisconsin include more penalties. After your first Wisconsin DUI offense, you could be fined up to $300 plus a surcharge of $355 and have your license suspended for up to nine months. A Wisconsin DUI second offense within ten years may mean quadruple the fines, a driver's license suspension for at least a year, a mandatory jail sentence of at least five days, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
Charged with a Second DUI Offense?
If so, take action before it's too late.
At Total DUI, our sponsoring attorneys can help you learn more about the DUI penalties in your state for second DUI offenses.
By calling 1 (877) 349-1311 or filling out our online case evaluation form, we can put you in contact with a DUI lawyer in your area.