Kansas DUI Penalties Bolstered under New Drunken Driving Law
By: Chris Kramer
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, especially with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level equal to or higher than 0.15 percent, will now carry stiffer Kansas DUI law will result in a one-year driver's license suspension for people found guilty of having a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher. After that one-year suspension, the DUI offender will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for another year under this new Kansas DUI law. That offender will bear all costs associated with the ignition interlock devices in addition to being on the hook for any towing, impoundment, storage or other immobilization costs.
Repeat DUI convictions involving BAC test results of 0.15 percent or higher will require the use of the ignition interlock device for periods equal to the specific offense. For example, a person who is charged with their second extreme Kansas DUI will have to drive with the ignition interlock device for two years following the one-year driver's license suspension. Three-time extreme DUI offenders will have the Kansas ignition interlock devices in their cars for three years. A fourth such conviction for extreme Kansas DUI will equal four years of getting cozy with an ignition interlock device.
With that said, this new Kansas DUI law will continue to say that's enough upon a fifth conviction for DUI. Offenders found to have a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher for a fifth time will have their licenses permanently revoked under this new Kansas DUI law. As for a person under the age of 21 and convicted for DUI with a 0.15 BAC, he or she will subject to the same scale of penalties as a similar offender at or above the legal drinking age.
In addition to high BAC test results, this Kansas DUI law addresses refusing a breath test. This new Kansas DUI law will not only result in a one-year driver's license suspension upon a first DUI test refusal but also mandate the use of an ignition interlock device for as you guessed it, one year.
As you can see, this new Kansas DUI law certainly bolsters current DUI laws in the state.
- Current Kansas DUI law mandates a 30-day driver's license suspension and restricts driving to and from work or school for an additional 330 days for a person cited for a first DUI based on a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher.
- Second, third and four-time DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher now have their driver's licenses suspended for a year under current Kansas DUI law. The same one-year suspension applies for drivers under the age of 21 and for the first through fourth offenses.
- Upon a fifth DUI conviction with a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, people above or under the legal drinking age now have their licenses permanently revoked under current Kansas DUI law.