Los Angeles DUI

Arrest for Drunk Driving? Talk to a LA DUI Attorney Today

Being pulled over and arrested for DUI can be a frightening experience. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense in the state of California, and LAPD are constantly on the lookout for impaired drivers.

The next step, taking your DUI case to the court, can be intimidating. Luckily, you don't have to face this prospect alone.

A drunk driving conviction in California can have serious consequences. A Los Angeles DUI attorney can help you learn how to fight your charges and protect your rights in the court. Connect with a local LA attorney today - use our case review form below to begin.

Free Case Evaluation

California DUI Laws in LA Court

DUI Penalties in Los Angeles

California DUI laws apply to anyone convicted of a DUI anywhere in the state. In addition, Los Angeles County is part of several pilot programs for DUI offenders that impose stricter penalties, such as mandatory Ignition Interlock Devices.

First California DUI

  • Jail Time: Mandatory minimum 96 hours, up to 6 months
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License Suspension: 6 months
  • Alcohol/DUI education required to resume driving privileges
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) required to resume driving privileges
  • SR22 insurance required upon license reinstatement

California has a "zero-tolerance" for repeat offenders. Anyone with a previous DUI conviction found driving with a BAC of .01 or higher can be charged with a second DUI.

Second California DUI (within 10 years)

  • Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License Suspension: 2 years
  • Alcohol/DUI education required
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) required to resume driving privileges
  • SR22 insurance required upon license reinstatement

Third California DUI (within 10 years)

  • Jail Time: 120 days to 1 year
  • Fines: $390 to $1,000
  • License Suspension: 3 years
  • Alcohol/DUI education required
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) required to resume driving privileges
  • SR22 insurance required upon license reinstatement

After receiving a third DUI conviction within 10 years, the state of California will designate you a "habitual traffic offender" for three years.

Breathalyzer Test Refusal

  • First Refusal: One-year license suspension
  • Second Refusal: Two-year license suspension
  • Third Refusal: Three-year license suspension

The court's sentence in event of a conviction in your case will likely depend on a number of situations, including the facts surrounding your arrest and your driving record. A Los Angeles DUI attorney can help you determine what to expect on your court date, and help you prepare a defense to the charges.

Your Future May Be At Stake - Get Help Today

It may be difficult to imagine the effects of a DUI when deciding to get behind the wheel after drinking, but those effects are real. From legal penalties to employment, a DUI can have long-lasting effects.

Of course, if your court date is ahead of you, it may still be possible to come up with a winning defense and beat the charges, or craft a plea bargain for greatly reduced penalties.

You can explore your legal options today by connecting with a Los Angeles DUI defense attorney. Simply fill out the case review form above or call 877-349-1311 to speak with a DUI lawyer today.

Laws may have changed since our last update. This is for informational purposes and is not legal advice. Speak to a local DUI attorney for legal advice about your particular situation.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.