Ask a New Mexico DWI Lawyer if Your DWI Charges Could Be Dismissed


If you've been charged with drunk driving (DWI or DUI) in New Mexico, you likely have a legal battle ahead of you. New Mexico's DUI laws have steep penalties, and for those with a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than .16%, the penalties are even steeper. Consulting with a New Mexico DUI lawyer before beginning your case may help you make sure you proceed prudently with the legal matters surrounding DWI charges. A New Mexico DUI lawyer could help you determine how to move forward with your case, and may be able to determine if there are any legal grounds on which your New Mexico DWI charges could be dismissed.

New Mexico DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • Up to $940 fine
  • 1-year driver's license revocation
  • 1-year ignition interlock installation
  • Up to 90 days in jail OR
  • Up to 1 year of probation
  • 24 hours of community service
  • Attendance at "DWI School"

Second DUI Conviction

  • Up to $1,640 fine
  • 2-year driver's license revocation
  • 2-year ignition interlock installation
  • 96 hours - 364 days in jail OR
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • 48 hours of community service
  • Substance abuse program approved by court

Third DUI Conviction

  • Up to $1,890 fine
  • 3-year driver's license revocation
  • 3-year ignition interlock installation
  • 30 days - 364 days in jail OR
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • Substance abuse program approved by court

Can You Refuse a Breath Test?

  • NO

Penalties for Refusal

  • Driver's license revocation

New Mexico DUI Resources

Ask a New Mexico DUI lawyer about possible defenses

Your DUI case might include procedural errors which could get it thrown out of court. A New Mexico DUI lawyer could inform you of these possible procedural errors. For example, the cop who pulled you over might have done so without probable cause. An additional error might be that the blood alcohol test you were administered was done so inaccurately or against standard. Additionally, the results of the blood alcohol test might not even be clear enough to convict you of a crime. You can ask a New Mexico DUI lawyer to examine your case for any of these issues.

Ask a New Mexico DUI lawyer about your rights

A New Mexico DUI lawyer could be your resource. You may be facing a long, invasive driver's license suspension, increased car insurance and the possibility of addressing your DUI situation with your present or future employers. When you fill out our free case evaluation form, we will get you in touch with a New Mexico DUI lawyer who can discuss the kinds of risks you are facing. You can also call us at 1 (877) 349-1311 if you'd prefer. This first consultation with the New Mexico DUI lawyer is free and no-obligation.

Contact a New Mexico DUI Lawyer with Help from Total DUI

Based on the potential penalties, you've likely realized that DWI charges are taken very seriously in New Mexico, but are you aware of all the legal protections available to you? A New Mexico DUI attorney can explain your rights in a DUI case and answer any questions you might have about your DUI charges. Plus, working with a New Mexico DWI lawyer could let you focus on approaching the case calmly, without the potentially mind-scrambling worry that can accompany criminal charges.

Take a moment to fill out our free DUI case evaluation form or call us at 1 (877) 349-1311, and we'll connect you with a New Mexico DWI lawyer practicing near you.

Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.