A New Jersey DUI lawyer could fight your DUI charge

By:

Is your DUI charge looming over you, threatening to rob you of the freedom you've experienced for years? Ask a New Jersey DUI lawyer if there are details of your case which could get your charge thrown out of court.

Did you know that the police officer who pulled you over might not have had probable cause to do so or that the blood alcohol test you were given might have been rife with inaccuracies and errors? It's also possible the blood alcohol test might not have even been administered correctly, or might have been administered against procedure.

Do not let any of these possibilities slip by you. They could be your tickets to freedom. Ask a New Jersey DUI lawyer to look for these errors in your case.

Realize your rights with the aid of a New Jersey DUI lawyer

Although the law may be confusing, there are a lot of aspects of the law that are provided to protect you. Learn these aspects from a New Jersey DUI lawyer. When you fill out our free case evaluation form, or call us toll-free at 1 (877) 349-1311, we will connect you with a New Jersey DUI lawyer for a free, no-obligation consultation.

You might learn something that could prevent a number of troublesome consequences from affecting your life. If you approach your DUI case effectively, you might escape hundreds of dollars in automobile insurance. You might also avoid a long driver's license suspension. And possibly most important, if you are exonerated you will not have to address your DUI case with your present or future employers. Talk to a New Jersey DUI lawyer to learn all about your rights and options in your case.

For the names and office locations of the New Jersey lawyers in your area click here.

New Jersey Penalties for DUI

First-time DUI conviction (0.10 > BAC > 0.08)

If your BAC is between 0.08 and 0.10 percent, these New Jersey DUI penalties may apply:

  • Possible jail sentence of up to 30 days;
  • fine of at between $250 and $400; and
  • driver's license suspension for 3 months.

First-time DUI conviction (BAC > 0.10) =

  • Possible jail sentence of up to 30 days;
  • fine of at between $300 and $500; and
  • driver's license suspension for 7 months to one year.

Second DUI conviction (within 10 years) =

  • Jail sentence of at least 48 hours up to 90 days;
  • fine of between $500 and $1000; and
  • driver's license suspension for 2 years.

Third DUI conviction (anytime) =

  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 180 days with maximum of 5 years;
  • fine of $1000; and
  • driver's license suspension for 10 years.

Can You Refuse a Breath Test?

  • NO

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • 1st refusal = 1-3-year suspension of driver's license
  • 2nd refusal = permanent revocation

Want to know more about DUI in New Jersey?

Are you under the burden of previous DUI charges? A New Jersey DUI lawyer could still help

Things frequently change the second or third time around for DUI cases. A New Jersey DUI lawyer can discuss the penalties you may be facing, including whether or not your repeat charge will be charged as a felony. Learn where your case fits into the big picture of state DUI law by contacting us to get in touch with a New Jersey DUI lawyer as soon as possible.

Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.

PAID ATTORNEY ADVERTISEMENT: THIS WEB SITE IS A GROUP ADVERTISEMENT AND THE PARTICIPATING ATTORNEYS ARE INCLUDED BECAUSE THEY PAY AN ADVERTISING FEE. It is not a lawyer referral service or prepaid legal services plan. Total DUI is not a law firm.  Your request for contact will be forwarded to the local lawyer who has paid to advertise in the ZIP code you provide. Total DUI does not endorse or recommend any lawyer or law firm who participates in the network nor does it analyze a person's legal situation when determining which participating lawyers receive a person's inquiry. It does not make any representation and has not made any judgment as to the qualifications, expertise or credentials of any participating lawyer. The information contained herein is not legal advice. No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers. Any information you submit to Total DUI does not create an attorney-client relationship and may not be protected by attorney-client privilege. Do not use the form to submit confidential, time-sensitive, or privileged information. All photos are of models and do not depict clients. All case evaluations are performed by participating attorneys. An attorney responsible for the content of this Site is Kevin W. Chern, Esq., licensed in Illinois with offices at 25 East Washington, Suite 400, Chicago, Illinois 60602. To see the attorney in your area who is responsible for this advertisement, please click here or call 866-200-8052.

FLORIDA ONLY: Total DUI is considered a lawyer referral service in the state of Florida under the Florida Rules of Professional Conduct. By all other standards, Total DUI is a group advertisement and not a lawyer referral service.

If you live in Mississippi, Missouri, New York or Wyoming, please click here for additional information.