Ask a Montana DUI Lawyer about Your Options
By: Mary Ann Pekara
If you've been charged with DUI in Montana, you likely have a lot of questions. You may be wondering how DUI cases are handled in court, what penalties you could face if you're convicted of DUI or what exactly it means to be driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A Montana DUI lawyer can answer questions you may have about drunk driving or criminal court. Plus, when you're working with a Montana DUI attorney, you can stop worrying about trying to understand all the legal details of Montana's DUI laws and courtroom procedure.
Montana DUI Penalties
First DUI Conviction
- 6-month driver's license suspension
- 24 hours - 6 months in jail
- $300 - $1,000 fine
Second DUI Conviction (within 5 years)
Third DUI Conviction (within 5 years)
- 1-year driver's license suspension
- 30 days - 1 year in jail
- $1,000 - $5,000 fine
- 1-year ignition interlock installation
Can You Refuse a Breath Test?
Penalties for Refusal
- 1st refusal: 6-month driver's license suspension
- 2nd refusal: 1-year driver's license suspension
Fight for Your Future with a Montana DUI Attorney
As you can see, Montana's penalties for DUI are pretty steep - and, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was greater than a certain limit at the time of your arrest, the penalties could be even tougher. That's why many people choose work with Montana DUI lawyers to understand the legal protections available and the potential ways to challenge their DUI charges. DUI convictions can mean the loss of money, driving privileges and freedom. Take action and contact a DUI lawyer practicing near you.
To get in touch with a Montana DUI lawyer, all you have to do is call Total DUI at 1 (877) 349-1311 or fill out our free DUI case evaluation form. We'll connect you with a DUI lawyer near you.
Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.