Navigate the confusing court system with a Missouri DUI lawyer.
Although the court system can be very tricky and difficult to navigate, if you enlist the help of a Missouri DUI lawyer, you may actually learn some things that could get your DUI case dismissed. You could learn that the police officer who pulled you over didn't do so with probable cause. You could learn that the blood alcohol test you were administered had discrepancies in its results. You could even learn that the blood alcohol test wasn't administered accurately. These are all breakdowns in procedure that a Missouri DUI lawyer might find in your case.
Why not turn things around on the confusing court system and get your DWI, DUID or BAC charge dismissed because of details in the law? Get in touch with a Missouri DUI lawyer who knows the law to help you investigate your case and go over all of your options.
Getting help from a Missouri DUI lawyer could save you from a car insurance spike.
When you learn your rights from a Missouri DUI lawyer, you should be better prepared to face any of the obstacles your DUI case could throw at you. A Missouri DUI lawyer could warn you if you are staring down the face of any car insurance spikes or driver's license suspensions, and they could even help you avoid them completely. A Missouri DUI lawyer is trained to explain the risks you face in your court trial and the options you have. If you fill out our free case evaluation form, or call us toll-free at 1 (877) 349-1311, a Missouri DUI lawyer will contact you for a free, no-obligation consultation. Who knows? This consultation could the first step along your road to freedom from your DUI charge.
Missouri DUI Penalties
Missouri statutes establish a points system for all traffic infractions. For DWI, DUID and other alcohol-related traffic convictions, points will be assigned to your driving record that entail certain penalties restricting driving privileges. Here is a summary of the points system and associated penalties:
First-time DWI or DUID conviction = 8 points
- Possible jail sentence of up to 6 months;
- fine of up to $500; and
- driver's license suspension for 30 days.
First-time conviction for BAC above 0.08 percent = 8 points
Second DWI, DUID or BAC conviction = 12 points
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 5 days with maximum of 1 year;
- fine of up to $1,000; and
- driver's license suspension for 1 year; if second DUI conviction occurs within 5 years, suspension for 5 years
Third DWI, DUID or BAC conviction = 12 points
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 10 days with maximum of 4 years;
- fine of up to $5,000; and
- driver's license suspension for 10 years.
Conviction for commercial vehicle with BAC above 0.04 percent = 2 points
- Commercial driver's license suspension for 1 year.
Can You Refuse a Breath Test?
Breath Test Refusal Penalties
- Refusal = driver's license suspension for 1 year.
Missouri DWI Resources
- For more about Missouri DUI law, including a full overview of the legal code, check out our Missouri DUI laws page.
- Updates to Missouri DUI law can be found on our DUI legislation news and articles section.
- Missouri DUI Legal Terms:
- DWI - Driving While Intoxicated
- DUID - Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
- BAC - Blood Alcohol Concentration
- Want to learn more about DWI? Find a definition in our DUI legal glossary.
Even if you think you know what's coming, a Missouri DUI lawyer could be a huge advantage.
Although you might have been in court for a DWI, DUID or BAC charge before, you could still be facing a variety of circumstances with which you are not familiar. The process can change from one DUI case to another, and sometimes it can even change from one person to another. You could be facing a felony charge where you didn't before. Or you could be facing an even longer driver's license suspension or jail sentence than previously. A Missouri DUI lawyer would be trained to recognize the difference between your current case and any previous ones you might have had. Do not let something you didn't expect surprise you. Please contact us to get in touch with a Missouri DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.