A Mississippi DUI lawyer could find discrepancies in your case that would get it dismissed.

By:

If certain discrepancies are discovered in the circumstances of your DUI case, a Mississippi DUI lawyer could get your case thrown out of court. It's possible that the police officer who pulled you over didn't have probable cause when they did so. It's also possible that when they administered the blood alcohol test to you, they did so inaccurately or against procedure. And it's even possible that the results of the blood alcohol test weren't even legitimate, and they just didn't inform you of that. All of these possibilities, which a Mississippi DUI lawyer could investigate, could get your case dismissed. Ask a Mississippi DUI lawyer what the circumstances of your case show.

Free Case Evaluation

Mississippi DUI Penalties

First DUI conviction =

  • possible jail sentence of up to 48 hours;
  • fine of at not less than $250 or more than $1,000;
  • mandatory alcohol safety education; and
  • driver's license suspension for 90 days.

Second DUI conviction (within 5 years) =

  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 5 days and up to nine months;
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation for at least 6 months;
  • fine of not less than $600 or more than $1,600; and
  • driver's license suspension for 2 years.

Third DUI conviction (within 5 years) =

  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 1 year and up to five years;
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation for at least 6 months;
  • vehicle seizure;
  • fine of not less than $2,000 or more than $5,000; and
  • driver's license suspension for 5 years.

Can You Refuse a Breath Test?

  • NO

Breath Test Refusal Penalties

  • 1st refusal = 90-day suspension of driver's license
  • Any additional refusal after 1st = 1-year suspension

Mississippi DUI Resources

Be informed before you make a decision.

If you're facing a DUI charge, take action now to learn about your rights and the options available to you. For a no-cost, no-obligation consultation with a Mississippi DUI lawyer, call 1 (877) 349-1311 or use our free case evaluation form. All information will be kept confidential, and you'll have the opportunity to explore your rights and learn your options with a Mississippi DUI attorney before moving forward.

There could be differences between this DUI charge and any previous ones you've had. A Mississippi DUI lawyer could inform you of these.

State law could require that your case be approached more strictly if you've faced a DUI charge before. You may think that you know what to expect, but this greater strictness could mean some things that you would not be aware of without the help of a Mississippi DUI lawyer. Could you be looking at a longer driver's license suspension? Could you be looking at a longer jail sentence? A Mississippi DUI lawyer can explain the various risks you face in your upcoming trial, no matter what number DUI this is for you. Take advantage of the opportunity to get in touch with a Mississippi DUI lawyer by contacting us today.

Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.

Copyright © 2017 MH Sub I, LLC. All rights reserved. ® Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or will be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on this site are paid attorney advertising. In some states, the information on this website may be considered a lawyer referral service. Please reference the Terms of Use and the Supplemental Terms for specific information related to your state.Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the "Terms & Conditions", "Supplemental Terms", "Privacy Policy" and "Cookie Policy."