Let a Massachusetts DUI lawyer guide you through your tough DUI case.
By: Mary Ann Pekara
Your case may be dismissed if you enlist the help of a Massachusetts DUI lawyer who could explain to you some of the many possible defenses you have in your arsenal. For instance, a Massachusetts DUI lawyer may help you identify whether the cop who pulled you over actually had probable cause to do so. A Massachusetts DUI lawyer could also investigate whether or not the blood alcohol tests were administered according to procedure. And were the results of the blood alcohol tests even accurate? There are so many possible breakdowns in procedure that could have occurred, and a Massachusetts DUI lawyer can be an invaluable resource in researching your options.
You have a variety of rights that a Massachusetts DUI lawyer could explain to you.
If you fill out our free case evaluation form or call us toll-free at 1 (877) 349-1311, we will have a Massachusetts DUI lawyer get in touch with you for a free, no-obligation consultation. All of your information will be kept confidential. During this consultation, you could realize a number of things that could help you escape the dangerous consequences of your DUI or OUI court appearance. A Massachusetts DUI lawyer could help you evade higher automobile insurance rates or prolonged driver's license suspensions. The bottom line is that your DUI or OUI court case could be a critical moment in determining your present and future options both at home and at work. Why not take advantage of the help a Massachusetts DUI lawyer could provide if it could lead you to a life of greater freedom? It could be the greatest decision you make to deal with this very serious moment in your life.
Massachusetts Penalties for DUI/OUI
First-time DUI/OUI conviction =
- Possible jail sentence of up to 2.5 years;
- fine of at between $500 and $5000; and
- driver's license suspension for 1 year.
Second-time DUI/OUI conviction (anytime) =
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 60 days with maximum of 1 year;
- fine of between $600 and $10,000; and
- driver's license suspension for 2 years.
Third DUI/OUI conviction (anytime) =
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 180 days with maximum of 5 years;
- fine of between $1000 and $15000; and
- driver's license suspension for 8 years.
Fourth DUI/OUI conviction (anytime) =
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 2 years with maximum of 5 years;
- fine of between $1500 and $25000; and
- driver's license suspension for 10 years.
Fifth DUI/OUI conviction (anytime) =
- Mandatory jail sentence of at least 2.5 years with maximum of 5 years;
- fine of between $2000 and $50000; and
- driver's license suspension for life.
Can You Refuse a Breath Test?
Breath Test Refusal Penalties
- 1st refusal = 180-day suspension of driver's license
- 2nd refusal = 3-year suspension
Want to know more about OUI in Massachusetts?
It doesn't matter what number OUI or DUI charge this may be for you. A Massachusetts DUI lawyer could help you.
Although you may have been through a DUI court procedure before, you may be facing altered circumstances this time that you aren't suspecting. A Massachusetts DUI lawyer could alert you to these new circumstances. You may be facing an even longer driver's license suspension than usual. You may be looking at an even longer jail term than usual. These are verdicts you obviously do not want to hear, so please take the opportunity to learn as much about every aspect of your case as you can. The options, rights and risks you are looking at in your DUI/OUI case are many and complicated, and a Massachusetts DUI lawyer could paint the picture a lot clearer for you. Take complete control of your situation by contacting us now.
Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.