Facing DUI Charges in Louisiana? Talk to a Louisiana DUI Lawyer!

By:

If you're facing DUI charges in Louisiana, you've come to the right place. Louisiana DUI penalties are severe, particularly for repeat offenders. A DUI conviction could cost you money, limit your driving privileges and more. In order to make sure you're aware of all the protections offered to you by the law, you should speak with a Louisiana DUI lawyer. A Louisiana DUI lawyer can explain what to expect in court during a DUI trial and can help you figure out how to address the crime with which you've been charged.

Louisiana Penalties for DUI

First DUI Conviction

  • 6 months in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 90-day driver's license suspension

Second DUI Conviction

  • 6 months in jail (48 hours mandatory)
  • $1,000 fine
  • 1-year driver's license suspension

Third DUI Conviction

  • 1-5 years in jail (30 days mandatory)
  • $2,000 fine
  • 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Considered a felony
  • Car may be seized and sold
  • 6 weeks inpatient + 12 months outpatient alcohol/drug treatment

Fourth DUI Conviction

  • Up to 30 years in jail (30 days mandatory)
  • $5,000 fine
  • 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Car may be seized and sold
  • 6 weeks inpatient + 12 months outpatient alcohol/drug treatment

Can You Refuse a Breath Test?

  • NO

Penalties for Refusal

  • Driver's license suspension

Louisiana DUI Resources

Don't Lose Hope - Fight your DUI Charges!

You may have heard rumors about DUI convictions and penalties, but here's the truth: Louisiana DUI lawyers can help you fight your DUI charges by challenging key pieces of evidence against you. Did you know, for instance, that some breathalyzer machines, which measure BAC (blood alcohol content), are inaccurate? Sometimes, a Louisiana DUI lawyer can challenge the results of your breath test, which can be a serious boon to your DUI defense.

If you're convicted of drunk driving in Louisiana, you could lose your freedom and serious cash. Plus, if you get a felony DUI conviction, you lose your ability to vote! Now is the time to act: if you want to fight your DUI charges, contact Total DUI at 1 (877) 349-1311 or fill out our free online DUI case evaluation form. We'll connect you with a Louisiana DUI lawyer practicing near you.

Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.