Talk with a Kansas DUI Lawyer about Your DUI Charges


In Kansas, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is considered a serious crime, and comes with serious criminal penalties. If you're facing DUI charges, you likely have a court date ahead of you. Unless you're familiar with Kansas's DUI laws and fully understand courtroom procedure, you could likely benefit from the help a Kansas DUI lawyer can offer you. Your Kansas DUI attorney can help you sort out the legal details of your case and make sure you're taking advantage of the legal protections available to you.

Kansas DUI Penalties

First DUI Conviction

  • 1-year driver's license suspension
  • 48 hours - 6 months in jail
  • $500 - $1,000 fine
  • Up to 100 hours of community service
  • Completion of alcohol/drug safety education program
  • 1-year use of ignition interlock device

Second DUI Conviction

  • 2-year driver's license suspension
  • 90 days - 1 year in jail
  • $1,000 - $1,500 fine
  • Completion of drug/alcohol abuse treatment program

Third DUI Conviction

  • 3-year driver's license suspension
  • 90 days - 1 year in jail
  • $1,500 - $2,500 fine
  • Completion of drug/alcohol abuse treatment program
  • Guilty of a felony

Can You Refuse a Breath Test?

  • NO

Penalties for Refusal

  • First refusal: 1-year driver's license suspension
  • Second refusal: 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Third refusal: 3-year driver's license suspension
  • Fourth refusal: 10-year driver's license suspension
  • Fifth refusal: permanent revocation of driver's license

Kansas DUI Resources

  • Learn the terminology of DUI with our DUI Glossary.
  • Get the latest DUI news & legislative updates from our DUI articles section.
  • Read the full text of Kansas's DUI laws on the Kansas DUI Laws page.

Don't Face Your DUI Charges Sitting Down!

As your DUI lawyer can verify, the penalties for DUI convictions are especially steep for repeat offenders. Being convicted of drunk driving in Kansas could mean loss of your driving privileges, your freedom and your hard-earned money. A DUI lawyer practicing near you can help you decide how best to handle the charges against you and determine if any common DUI challenges would benefit your case.

If you're ready to take control of your DUI charges, Total DUI can help by putting you in touch with a Kansas DUI attorney in your area. All you have to do is call us at 1 (877) 349-1311 or fill out our free online DUI case evaluation form. We'll take it from there and connect you with a DUI lawyer so you can get started on your DUI case.

Note: DUI laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on these DUI laws, speak to a DUI lawyer in the state.

Fight Your DUI  (877) 334-9893

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not legal advice, does not constitute a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. The attorney listings on the site are paid attorney advertisements. Your access of/to and use of this site is subject to additional Supplemental Terms.