While an Arkansas House committee endorsed legislation that could raise the speed limit on some highways to 65 mph, the committee shot down a proposal to require drivers convicted of their third DUI to have a pink license plate on their vehicles.
Representative Pam Adcock of Little Rock Arkansas had introduced a bill that would have shamed a three time DUI offenders with a pink license plate. Three time offenders already are required to have ignition interlocks installed in their vehicles.
Some House committee members speculated that the pink DUI plates might embarrass other family members who need to drive the car, especially teenagers. Adcock said the plate was meant to be a deterrent and not intended to embarrass anyone. Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), of course, supported the bill.
A new Arkansas DUI law will increase the jail time for drunk driving with children in the vehicle. The new DUI law increases the minimum time in jail for drinking and driving with a child under the age of 17 in the car from 24 hours to 7 days. With a 2nd offense, the minimum jail sentence, when a child is in the car, goes from 7 to 30 days. The 3rd offense penalty increases from 90 to 120 days. Judges may, at their discretion, order community service in lieu of jail time.
“It makes police officers mad to see a child in a car with a drunk driver,” an officer with the Rogers Arkansas police department said. “You’ve got an adult, who’s supposed to be a role model taking a child along. The adult makes the decision to drink and drive, but then they’ve got someone with them who doesn’t have a choice. Forcing their decision on them – that’s the ultimate form of bullying.”