Were you already convicted of DUI in Georgia and convicted for a 2nd time? Watch out! Things could be getting more strict for you.
The Georgia Senate has approved a more strict punishment for driving under the influence convictions for multiple time offenders.
Anyone convicted of more than one DUI in a 5 year period could be looking at a longer relationship with their breath-test lock on their car ignition.
The bill has to go to the House before the law can be revised but offenders may see an increase from an 8 month probationary license to one year.
Currently, after 120 days without a valid license, a probationary license can be obtained (for 8 months) as long as their car is equipped with the ignition lock that tests the driver’s blood alcohol content before starting.