Apr

17

Common Sense Bail Law Affects DUI Arrests in Nevada

By Mary Ann

The Nevada Assembly passed a measure requiring drivers arrested for DUI to remain in jail until their blood alcohol level (BAC) drops or, if arrested for drug use, 12 hours. Hopefully, this common sense measure will help keep drivers from re-offending on the drive home.

Assemblyman Mark Manendo said that “People were being released two to three hours after being arrested, while their blood alcohol was 2.5 percent.”   Manendo’s bill would require a DUI suspect to remain in jail until his BAC fell to 0.04 percent. The legal limit for DUI in Nevada is a BAC of 0.08 percent.

Share this with your friends
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • Print
  • Reddit
  • RSS
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Twitter

Comments are closed.